Transylvania (in Romanian Transilvania or Ardeal, in German Siebenbürgen, in Hungarian Erdély) is a geographical-historical-political formation in Central Europe, in the eastern part of the Carpathian Basin, on the territory of present-day Romania. Today it is regarded as autonomous only because of its history and unique culture.

Under the name of Transylvania or present-day Transylvania  we usually reffer to the whole western part of Romania, but not as a unified region, but simply as a total of 16 counties. This area includes Central Transylvania (the historical Transylvania), Partium, the eastern, greater part of Banat and Székely Land.

On Transylvania’s teritory of 103 093 square kilometers currently live more than 7 700 000 people, of which 1 224 000 are Hungarians. More than half of the Hungarian population – given only the size of the area – live in absolutely scattered areas and only about 500 000 people live in ethnic block settlements, on the territory of Székely Land. Despite the size of the territory and small number of people living there, the Hungarian community from Transylvania is very active, not only in preserving their traditions, but also in generating new ideas.